Walls

Writing on the Walls

We build up prisons in our worlds
that rely on walls of stone,
but in our minds the walls are ours
to build and break alone.

I watched the walls fall down today
then looked around, and found
that I was free of everything that
yesterday would’ve held me down.

I stepped outside the ruins today
and walked into the sun;
and because they had not seen the light,
my eyes began to burn.

Then, I put the walls back up
and with my pen in hand,
I began to draw my dreams,
the things I’ve seen and understand.

Now, I find comfort
in writing on the walls…
Except for me, the words
remain a mystery to all.

Of course, it may seem curious,
until you stop and see –
that I am this world’s creator;
these walls belong to me.

About John Chronikal

John Chronikal is a blogger, storyteller, poet, artist, composer, and songwriter. He loves to drink bourbon and write things that make his poor grandmother cringe. He is a gigantic man –– his bear hugs can crush bones –– but he is a gentle giant. Give him bourbon and chocolate and he will be your bestest friend forever. View all posts by John Chronikal

Backtalk goes here:

Jay's Analysis

Philosophy. Film. Geopolitics. Theology.

ironSoap

Just another Wordpress.com weblog

With Coffee Spoons

Chelsea Sutton, Writer & Playwright

Vers Les Etoiles

“The wide world is all about you: you can fence yourselves in, but you cannot forever fence it out.” J.R.R. Tolkien

JDSFiction

Joseph D. Stirling, Author

infinite satori

FOLLOW YOUR GOOSEBUMPS

DarkeMind

A Madman's Manifesto

