Kerosene

worldonfire

Silent rage, disengaged
Fire on an empty page

Quiet, still…
ignorance is bliss until
the fire spreads and singes
all the hairs off of your face

No remorse
Oh, but of course
That’s the way the burning goes
impetuous force

The taste of smoke
Is only harsh until you choke
Then welcome suffocation
Awful nice of you to show

And everything around you starts to go

Kerosene ignites the evidence
But it leaves a mark for all to see 
I take my chances
but it makes no sense at all
to watch the world around you burn and fall
to watch the world around you burn and fall 

We watch the savage spit and curse
the ground he ravaged;
it reminds us all how fragile we forgot
we always were

You cry, and I try to explain exactly why
this bastard took our home and broke our bones
and made us all suffer

But I find that I am at a loss for words
Yes it seems that I am at a loss for words

Kerosene ignites the evidence,
But it leaves a mark for all to see.
I take my chances
But it makes no sense at all
To watch the world around you burn and fall
You watch the world around you burn and fall

You watch the whole world burn… 

And fall.

Kerosene ignites the evidence,
But it left a scar across my arms and I can’t feel anything
so it makes perfect sense to me
to blame it all on inhumanity
and stand aside as fire climbs the walls

so I’ll watch the world around me burn and fall

I wanna the whole world burn…

About John Chronikal

John Chronikal is a blogger, storyteller, poet, artist, composer, and songwriter. He loves to drink bourbon and write things that make his poor grandmother cringe. He is a gigantic man –– his bear hugs can crush bones –– but he is a gentle giant. Give him bourbon and chocolate and he will be your bestest friend forever. View all posts by John Chronikal

Backtalk goes here:

Jay's Analysis

Philosophy. Film. Geopolitics. Theology.

ironSoap

Just another Wordpress.com weblog

With Coffee Spoons

Chelsea Sutton, Writer & Playwright

Vers Les Etoiles

“The wide world is all about you: you can fence yourselves in, but you cannot forever fence it out.” J.R.R. Tolkien

JDSFiction

Joseph D. Stirling, Author

infinite satori

FOLLOW YOUR GOOSEBUMPS

DarkeMind

A Madman's Manifesto

