Withered & Worn

20130630-025001.jpg

Darkness is swelling, looming,
casting shadows over me,
as a stone on the shore
is overcome by open sea,
I sit weathering storms;
like the stone – patiently
I am waiting, to brook the
deadly crashing waves,
endure the abrading
of endless tides;
withered and worn,
and grateful,
that somehow
I still abide.

About John Chronikal

John Chronikal is a blogger, storyteller, poet, artist, composer, and songwriter. He loves to drink bourbon and write things that make his poor grandmother cringe. He is a gigantic man –– his bear hugs can crush bones –– but he is a gentle giant. Give him bourbon and chocolate and he will be your bestest friend forever. View all posts by John Chronikal

5 responses to “Withered & Worn

  • poesravenlady

    Maintaining a subtle beauty throughout constant struggles… well done.

    • John Chronikal

      Why thank you! Beauty and strength overcoming adversity… that was what it spoke to me, and what I hoped it would speak to others. 🙂

      My father suffered a massive heart attack in April of this year, only two months after his 50th birthday. He is an incredibly strong man, in peak physical condition for a man his age, and he made it through open heart double bypass surgery, walking out of the hospital three days later and walked my little sister down the isle at her wedding three weeks after that. The experience changed me, and inspired me to write this piece.

      Thanks for sharing in it with me!

  • Satori

    I am in tears. Thank you so much for writing this. I needed it.

Backtalk goes here:

Jay's Analysis

Philosophy. Film. Geopolitics. Theology.

ironSoap

Just another Wordpress.com weblog

With Coffee Spoons

Chelsea Sutton, Writer & Playwright

Vers Les Etoiles

“The wide world is all about you: you can fence yourselves in, but you cannot forever fence it out.” J.R.R. Tolkien

JDSFiction

Joseph D. Stirling, Author

infinite satori

FOLLOW YOUR GOOSEBUMPS

DarkeMind

A Madman's Manifesto

